Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Thurman Munson...

Thurman Munson...
Hey all,

I hope this message finds everybody well. I originally posted this in the vintage cards section, but I thought I'd try my luck here as well.

I was wondering if anybody on this forum might know who the original photographer was for the 1971 Topps Thurman Munson card. For those of you unfamiliar with the image, here's a scan:

[Image: Munson.jpg]

The photo has always been a favorite of mine, and I would very much love to track down a high-res photo of it. Though, it's not necessarily for display purposes.

I am an artist who specializes in painting historical baseball scenes, most of which lie in the first half of the 20th century. Being a stickler for historical accuracy, these kinds photos are invaluable resources for my work, especially since blowing the images up from small cards isn't really an option. Lately, I feel like I've been getting into depicting more modern (or, modern for me) players, and I couldn't think of many images I would rather paint than this particular one.

Anywho, certainly ANY information you can provide is greatly appreciated. Here are some examples of my work to give you an idea of what I do.

[Image: Ty_Cobb_1908_April_14.jpg]
Ty Cobb, April 14, 1908, 40" x 62"

[Image: Christy_Mathewson_1911.jpg]
Christy Mathewson, 1911, 26" x 36"

[Image: Lou_Gehrig_1936_Portrait_Conlon.jpg]
Lou Gehrig, 1936, 16" x 20"

[Image: Ted_Williams_1939_May_30.jpg]
Ted Williams, May 30, 1939, 34" x 62"

[Image: Willie_Mays_1955_Portrait.jpg]
Willie Mays, 1955, 9" x 12"

[Image: Derek_Jeter_2000.jpg]
Derek Jeter, 2000, 11" x 14"

Thanks everyone!

Graig

RE: Thurman Munson...
Wow those look amazing! I wish I could get a painting of yours
[Image: 2013%20Ginter%20Signature_zpsraq8vd9t.jpg]

Wow, those are insane. Call topps.

Wow I wish I had your talent. Amazing Smile
[Image: Untitled_zpsec8eef53.jpg]