`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Kobe Bryant auto card question

Kobe Bryant auto card question

Hi, I purchased this card at a collectibles convention last year. In the BGS pop report there are 20 graded cards total. Five mint 9's, thirteen gem mint 9.5's, and two pristine 10's. No black label 10's.

I haven't seen that much info on this card regarding value/prices other than seeing a couple gem mint 9.5's sell in the past for around $2000 online. And one seller who has one of the two pristine 10's is selling it for $9000 on eBay. https://www.ebay.com/itm/303998570072?ha...Swz~FgoDiQ

I have no idea though if those prices are still accurate as the market could have obviously gone down for this card series. I wanted to ask for some help if anyone knows what the ballpark number would be for my card in terms of what the value is or what you would sell it for? I just signed up and this is my first time posting so not sure if this type of inquiry is allowed (please forgive me if it's not). Thanks.

RE: Kobe Bryant auto card question
Allowed ... and hard to answer.

Many of us go by recent completed sales when assessing value for trades and what not ... many of us stick strictly to current Beckett values ... but both of those can change obviously, like when LeBron breaks the scoring record, his stuff is going to spike for a bit.

If you were selling it online and worried about getting fair market value for it, you could always set a "reserve" price, i.e. the lowest you would be comfortable selling it for.

Kobe is an interesting case ... generally speaking retired players stay relatively consistent price wise, because they haven't done anything good or bad on the field to fluctuate their values.

The only exception would be a retired player - Scott Rolen or Fred McGriff, for example - getting a small contained bump leading up to Hall of Fame weekend or the attention based on an old record being broken (Kareem).