`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Card Grading Companies

Card Grading Companies
I'm sure this has been asked before but ...

I am new to Baseball Card trading and selling, I am looking to see if I can get (unbiased, since I am asking on BGS) opinions on which companies are best? between PSA, BGS, and SGC.

Thanks for any info on this.

RE: Card Grading Companies
Best? Pros and Cons to all mentioned PSA will garner a bit more at sale time these days it seems their pricing is confusing to many A few years back BGS was the premium choice and I like the sub grade option. As a collector there are few cards I think are worth grading (many collectors like myself dislike graded cards for assorted reasons like storage issues and added expense)

PSA - The Hobby accepted #1 choice primarily because PSA 10's will sell for more than any other companies Graded 10. Biggest downside to PSA is you have to buy their yearly subscription service to get the monthly specials so sort of a pay to play type deal. It was $99 / yr but they recently announced the price is increasing to $149 starting April 20th 2024.

SGC- Was #2 in the hobby but recently was bought by PSA's parent company. They are known for being popular with Vintage collectors and for their cheap sub prices at $15 but in the past have been known to do $9 specials which are popular but haven't had one since being sold so we will see if they continue those in the future. They are also known for the quickest turn around times in the industry
(10 days ) but for whatever reason have hit a bump in the road and are now around (15-20 days ) which is still by far the fastest turn around time.